NaBloPoMo – November 2010

Day one – It’s that time of year again – Post from My Writing Exploration

It’s that time of year again

http://ladydayelle.livejournal.com/28329.html

 
So it’s time for National Novel Writing Month and this is my 5th year participating. Oddly enough, much like that first year, I am less prepared that I have been in previous years.

My novel will be a mosaic novel called 17 days. It will feature a pivotal day in the life of 17 characters in my ‘verse, which includes some of the ones found in previous “the story thus far” posts as well as the angry gondals. Some of the characters came to me easily: (like Catherine Navance), but others I had to think about. I definitely want to capture certain voices that I wanted to hear from (like Juliet Agustina and Cordelia Fizaphnold, who are definitely part of the underground for Gondal and play larger roles than I have mentioned so far).

I also won’t confine it to the present since that will allow me to capture some of the intrigue that happened to characters when they were younger.

I’ll be writing and blogging about my writing at this blog and at Nablopomo.ning.com

Let’s see what happens!

Happy NaNoWriMo!

 

 

Day 2 – (ironically entitled) – Day 2 – Post from My Writing Exploration

Day 2

 

 

 

 
So my word count is pitiful, especially in comparison to lisafish66, who clearly has better focus coming off of a tiring weekend of stagehanding and retweeting on my orders for the Big Broadcast of 1946 (http://bb1946.pmrp.org).

I actually began with Catherine’s father, Philip because I loved the secret that Bird found out about him and Alexander Percy, everyone’s favorite rogue.

Still. I must screw my courage to the sticking place and continue.

 

The Holidays – Help Again Another Day

My Social Issue Awareness and Action Blog

http://kitlat.wordpress.com/

 

It’s coming upon the holiday season where the sentimentalism of the season leads many to rashly sign up and help anyone with anything just so they won’t be considered a “Scrooge.”

Oh the flurry of activity-the food drives, the secret Santas, the parables about good will towards those less fortunate. Admittedly, in the past few years, more people have felt like they are the “less fortunate” and that they need help.

There are the endless PSAs, tv specials and ads that tell us that if we really loved our families, if we were really worthy people, we would spend money on a charity or an expensive item.

Unfortunately as the saying goes, “Christmas comes but once a year.” Social issues remain all year around. Sometimes this is forgotten. Many times, our collective desire to have a better world gets ramped up starting in November and ends at the end of December-although it might extend to the end of January with that whole New Year’s resolution thing. By the time the end of December (or January) comes, there is nothing left emotionally for the rest of the year.

Meanwhile, people still die while waiting for HIV medicine, children and women are still trafficked, and people still struggle to find ways of being economically self sufficient. Large challenges that aren’t solved in one day, much less within one holiday season.

So I hope that people don’t get worn out by the holiday season. I hope that you know that whatever help you give whenever it is given, is just as valuable as if it were done at Christmas. It will be just as much appreciated.

 
 
 
